digitalinkwell

April 5, 2012

God’s Truth and the Human Point of View

Filed under: Uncategorized — kevinocoin @ 3:37 am

Jesus asked his followers, “Who do you say I am?”  Simon Peter answered, “You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.”  Jesus replied, “You are blessed, Simon son of John, because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being. 

From then on Jesus began to tell his disciples plainly that it was necessary for him to go to Jerusalem, and that he would suffer many terrible things at the hands of the elders, the leading priests, and the teachers of religious law. He would be killed, but on the third day he would be raised from the dead.  But Peter took him aside and began to reprimand him for saying such things. “Heaven forbid, Lord,” he said. “This will never happen to you!” Jesus turned to Peter and said, “Get away from me, Satan! You are a dangerous trap to me. You are seeing things merely from a human point of view, not from God’s.”

— Matthew 16:15-17, 21-23

I am amazed at the ability of Simon Peter to be so smart and so dense in such quick succession.  In one scenario Jesus commends him  saying he has heard what he knows the from the Lord.  In the next scenario from mere days later Jesus reprimands him for seeing things from a human instead of divine view.  It is quite amazing that one person could be so right at one point and then so wrong in almost the very next breath.

But somehow I don’t think Peter is unusual in his glimmers of insight or frustrating obtuseness.  I myself have this same ability to be so bang on in one minute and so far off in the next.  At one point it can seem as if I am listening to God’s voice and saying all the best things and the next I could be saying something totally stupid and out of line with God’s plans and purposes.

Such is the human struggle.

 

1 Comment »

  1. It’s certainly hard for us to continually take a step back and stop before we open our mouths. Impulses is sometimes what we need to suppress.
    I was almost attacked on the skytrain today by a guy who was the size of Brock Lesnar. He was clearly disturbed, (possible possessed) and I was his target. What saved me was my ability to shut up and not let him touch me. There are two things I’ve learned about people who are possessed. First, they can’t touch you unless God or you give them permission. Second, their minds are not developed to reason what they are doing. If you send them the same message of peace at them again and again, they freeze. I’ve seen it before and that is why he couldn’t touch me.
    When I was younger, I was a lot like Peter. (I still am in many ways ) If this incident happened five years ago, I probably would have said something back to him that would have angered him more and then I’d telling this story with a broken nose.

    I think a lesson I have learned from Peter is impulsiveness without consulting the brain first is not a wise idea.

    Comment by Leslie Michael — April 10, 2012 @ 9:58 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

