digitalinkwell

February 3, 2009

One(?), holy(?), catholic, apostolic Church

Filed under: Uncategorized — kevinocoin @ 2:48 pm

Last summer I had a small group in my home that got together to study the history of Christianity.  One of the most interesting sessions for me was the one where we focused on the Protestant Reformation.  As someone who finds his theological identity rooted in various aspects of the Protestant movement, I made the comment that, despite Martin Luther’s faults, God has used him in great ways.  Much to my surprise at the time (though, looking back, I am not sure why I did not expect this response), a number of people in my group who were Catholics, or at least had a Catholic background, asserted that Luther was wrong to persist in his rebellion against the Catholic Church, because he sacrificed the unity of the Christ’s body in order to advance his own theological ideals and reforms.  Certainly Luther was not then, nor is he now, looked upon favourably by Catholics, who tend to view him as a schismatic who thought little of the unity of the faithful.  In some ways, I understand and perhaps even sympathize with this position.  

The Nicene Creed reminds us that, as orthodox Christians, we believe in one, holy, catholic, apostolic church.  My Catholic friends took the “one” part very seriously, and the need to remain as one can therefore conceivably trump other concerns.  I, on the other hand, have been accustomed to take the “holy” part more seriously, and so would assert that where there is corruption or doctrinal error in the Church, sometimes the best thing to do is to break away from that.  The “holy” part takes precedence, and this appears to be the historical stance of most Protestants, if the constant proliferation of Protestant splinter groups and church splits is any indication.

I do not believe that either Protestant or Catholic believers intend to elevate one of the Nicean adjectives over the other.  We desire to be both “one” and “holy.”  But when the rubber meets the road, which consideration takes precedence?  I doubt we even think much about this, especially since most evangelical believers have never recited or perhaps even read the Nicene creed, though it is fairly firmly entrenched in the collective consciousness of many denominations.  

Certainly there are problems with favouring “holy” over “one” or vice versa: to favour being one over being holy is to allow the possibility of serious corruption to destroy the witness and effectiveness of the church; but strangely enough, to sacrifice unity for the sake of purity does much the same thing — few people are kindly disposed to a Protestantism that is fractured into so many different denominations, each one being zealous to stake out its own territory.  “If these people cannot love one another and get along (isn’t love what Jesus is all about?), then I don’t want anything to do with that,” some might say.  On the other hand, a Church where people don’t live according to the command of God (not to say that the Catholic Church of the present is like this) and forsake convictions in order to appease everyone and make sure we all play nice, stands for little and is ultimately uninspiring and unhelpful. 

Is there a middle road?  Historically, we haven’t seen a lot of it, I will admit.  Will we in the near future?  I wish I knew.  But for now, being aware of our own tendencies to move to one side or the other, to favour holiness over unity or unity over holiness, is the beginning of being more fair-handed and fair-minded.

2 Comments »

  1. Very interesting article Kevin. I too have Catholic friends who regard Luther as a heretic, splintering God’s Church into a thousand pieces. Its an interesting argument to really dissect. I’m sure if I were raised Catholic I’d perhaps think differently.

    Comment by Adam Schellenberg — February 5, 2009 @ 11:22 am

  2. I was raised Catholic and praise God for Martin Luther and other reformers who challenged the dogma of the time which was very corrupt in demanding indulgences from people for forgiveness of sins. They had strayed very far from the true Gospel which we see in Martin Luther’s own testimony of discovering the verse in Romans which stated that we are justified by faith. Why was that so life changing for him? It was because he had been taught otherwise – that we earn our salvation. And that is still being taught today by the Catholic Church (that is what I was taught in the Catholic school I attended as a child). I discovered the grace of Christ in my teens and I have not looked back since. For me the oneness as well as holiness is found in the Body of Christ which is the true church of believers and not based on any denomination.

    Comment by Judy Klassen — February 18, 2009 @ 12:14 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

